Falafel

I had forgotten how easy these are to throw together for a pantry busting meal…and how wonderfully tasty they are.

What you need:

2 cups garbanzo beans or chick peas (funnily enough the cans I buy come in 190z cans which is roughly over a cup, but roughly under 2 cups, so two of these are required – I use the remainder to make hummus)

1/2 cup packed fresh parsley (today I didn’t have any parsley but wanted something green so I added a tablespoon of dried basil)

4 cloves of garlic

1 tsp ground cumin

1 tsp ground coriander

1/2 tsp paprika

1/2 tsp turmeric

1 small onion

1/2 cup bread crumbs

1 tbsp sesame seeds

pinch of salt

Peanut oil for frying

8 pitas

A variety of fruits and vegetables to serve on the pitas with the falafel.

Toss everything but the bread crumbs and oil into the food processor. Pulse-blend until you’ve got a paste. Mix in the bread crumbs by continuing to pulse-blend them in. Once they’re all blended put the lot of it in the fridge until it’s time to cook them (the more uniformly cold they are the easier they are to work with so I recommend having them in the fridge for no less than an hour.)

You’ll want to serve the little chick pea patties as immediately as possible after cooking so chop any desired vegies (I recommend baby spinach, tomatoes, peppers and green onions) and get your pitas ready before hand. I like to have some kind of tasty, offensively pungent sauce to serve with them so I usually make that up while the mush is chillin’ too. What I had on hand was half a tub of sour cream – generally a little too rich for my liking so I diluted it with the minced half of a red onion and 3 cloves of garlic. To that I added some dill and a pinch of salt; et voila! Instant offensively pungent saucey stuff!

The cooking method or these is pretty simple; heat 2 inches of peanut oil in a skillet or wok. Roll the chick pea mush into a bunch of looney-sized balls then flatten them to about a 1/2 inch in thickness. Once the oil is HOT (and you can use a little mush to test) gently place the falafel in it (I’ve got a couple of these puppies which help with this as I prefer too keep my fingers well away from hot grease) to cook for about two minutes. If using a wok you’ll probably want to do them in batches of four or five. Upon removing them from the oil place them on a paper towel lined serving dish then toss ’em on the table as soon as possible.

Leave a comment

Filed under Things stuffed with things, Vegetarian Recipes

Leave a Reply

