Tabouleh

I was feeling particularly in need of something summery and given that making a dress would leave me unable to wear it for a few more months I decided to make Tabouleh. Of course it normally looks more parsley-laden that the one above but I was working on a whim and didn’t have everything available in the quantities require – it was still quite good.

What you need:

2 cups dried bulgur

4 cups boiling water

1 large, finely chopped, red onion

3 cloves crushed garlic

3 cups chopped fresh parsley leaves

1 cup chiffonaded fresh mint (dried can be used when it’s not in season)

5 or 6 diced medium-sized tomatoes (I find firmer, less ripened tomatoes hold up better in this dish)

1/4 to 1/2 cup lemon juice (depending on how lemony one likes their tabouleh)

2 tbsp. olive oil

Salt and pepper to taste

Several hours in advance (4 is probably the least one could get away with,) reconstitute the bulgar in the four cups of boiling water. Cover, refrigerate, do your laundry and come back and check to see if your bulgur has soaked up all of the water. If it has then add everything else to it. Stir (with a wooden spoon or some other gentle device which will not bruise your herbs.) Chill. Leaving it overnight is ideal as it gives everything a chance to marry.

This can be served in romaine lettuce leaves which make fancy little finger food boats, in or on pitas or just on its own.

2 Comments

Filed under Recipes, Vegetarian Recipes

2 responses to “Tabouleh

  1. You’re right, tabouleh really is bright and summery tasting—perfect for the wintry weather headed my way here in Chicago. If you want to make a sharing appetizer of it, arrange Belgian endive leaves in a kind of star burst pattern on a plate and heap the tabouleh in the center.

    By the way, I just found your delightful blog. I love how it started, with your kids wanting you to write down recipes because your house is the best restaurant to them. We’ve got a daughter in college now, and when she comes home on break, she loves to eat at home—even requests particular meals from our repertoire.

  2. monkeybrainsnsquidkibbles

    Terry – thanks for stopping by! I’d never really thought of using it as an appetizer (as I tend to just dig into bowls full of the stuff) but I think I’ll employ that at our next wine tasting night (and now my mind’s ticking over on which wines might best accompany said appetizer.)

    Thank you also for introducing me to your lovely blog. I love that you’re inspired by your surroundings (something I’ve neglected exploring in this blog despite the wealth of seasonal, local foodstuffs and amazing restaurants and shops in the area – I’ll have to work on that =)

Leave a Reply

