58%

I can’t say I blame the other 42%.

The following excerpt from this document prettily sums up how I feel in the aftermath of our federal election so that’s all I will say on the matter.

Three wolves and six goats are discussing what
to have for dinner. One courageous goat makes
an impassioned case: “We should put it to a vote!” The
other goats fear for his life, but surprisingly, the wolves
acquiesce. But when everyone is preparing to vote, the
wolves take three of the goats aside.
“Vote with us to make the other three goats dinner,”
they threaten. “Otherwise, vote or no vote, we’ll eat you.”
The other three goats are shocked by the outcome of
the election: a majority, including their comrades, has
voted for them to be killed and eaten. They protest in
outrage and terror, but the goat who first suggested the
vote rebukes them: “Be thankful you live in a democracy!
At least we got to have a say in this!”

via CrimethInc.

In other news, keep your eyes pealed here early next week (I hope!) for a little gift to the three of you who read this blog.  A thank you, if you will, for putting up with my political rantings.

4 Comments

Filed under domestics

4 responses to “58%

  1. Silly sheep.

    I have been on a mission for the past few days, trying to figure out why the low turn out. I think I have it figured out, and it has to do with the “First Past the Post” system. I’ll spare you the gigantically long comment (If you want to read it, it’s in my blog) but suffice to say there needs to be some sort of change with the way Elections are run in Canada.

  2. I’ll have you know it was your very blog that reminded me to go & vote. I even had it written on my wrist, yet didn’t run for it til I read your last entry haha.

  3. Tony – I’m gonna read it. And love it. It does have something to do with the first past the post thing but I think it also has a lot more to do with stuff beyond the numbers. I can’t say I know what exactly. I wish I did & I’m kind of making it my business to find out in all the ways I think I have at my disposal.

    Des – Yay! I’m glad I encouraged one person (even if it was just a reminder 😉

  4. Well, to be honest, it should be everyone’s business, including those who didn’t vote. I realize now that to say the poor turn out is because of the way our electoral system works is far too much of a blanket statement. There are many political analysts (my main source is ctv.ca) that say the candidates were uninspiring, people are suffering from ambivalence and election burn out because of the amount of times we have had to go to the polls in recent memory, not to mention the fact that there are students in residence who could not vote because their voters cards had to be addressed to their college or university, but their government issued ID is addressed to their parents home. It was a botched election on all counts, and I personally think there needs to be a major overhaul on this antiquated system.

Leave a Reply

