feed reader angst

A while ago I whored myself to google reader after being enticed by this girl and her shiny bits of liberty fabrics to start using.  So now the multitudes of blogs I visit all reside therein like a bunch of happy hippies.  Prior to using a reader I used my bookmarks and categorized everything into folders named things like ‘arty’ and ‘crafty’ and ‘thinky’ and visited each as and when I pleased.  Now they just show up in the reader, nicely delivered in a tidy little package.  Tidy, but not pretty.

Take a gander:

On the left you see the google reader presentation.  On the right you see the presentation as designed & delivered by the blogger herself as they appear spread across my two monitors.  One is very much more reflective of this cold, virtual environment.  The MacDo’s of information delivery, if you will.  I don’t subscribe to comments which forces me to go to the blog proper if I want to interact, but it leaves me feeling like I’m missing some crucial part of the experience (beyond the adverts) and that all of the bloggers’ hard work is for naught when I’m not visiting the blog directly.  I’m also a little resentful of the fact on Sunday’s Post Secrets inevitably end up smushed between instructions for turning a vibrator into a light sabre and other instructions for turning your wii fit board into a tanning bed from Instructables.  I may be exaggerating a bit, but you get my point; it lacks context.

What do you lot do?  Are their other readers which maintain some of the original aesthetic qualities of the sites you subscribe to?  Am I doing it wrong?

4 Comments

Filed under pop, sharing is caring

4 responses to “feed reader angst

  1. i kinda prefer reading via reader. It strips things to their essence and becomes all about content. Most blog designs distract me and i end up spending hours clicking madly everywhere.

  2. I walk the middle line on that one. I like that it limits my ADD fueled, procrastination inducing traipsing through the interwebs…but then I’ve found so many great sites that way.

  3. I do love the design of most of the blogs I read, and will sometimes click over to read them from the original source — but mostly I read via my google reader. It’s like crack. I can’t stop.

Leave a Reply

